Jommetry, Headology and a Personal Statement

I finished the last, so felt entitled to a bit of the first two. Yes, I’ve been reading Pratchett, and hugely enjoying myself. (Thanks, BB, for lending me Equal Rites!)

I’ve also been accused of talking too much, and realised how true it was when I picked up a hugely excited Pooh from the airport yesterday – I’m not surprised people confuse the two of us though we’re five-and-a-very-important-half years apart!

But back to the accusation of being so talkative… I suppose I do miss the daily one hour dose of my own voice quite a bit during the hols. And I suppose it does have a little to do with being a woman.

As I was explaining to AB the other day, it has to do with Granny Weatherwax‘s explanation of the difference between witch magic and wizard magic. Witch magic, according to Granny, is mostly a good knowledge of how things work plus a good bit of Headology. Wizard magic is jommetry. For headology to work, you need words. And I mean need.

Now, it’s natural for witches to be women, and when a witch decides to be a teacher, she needs all the headology she can muster, doesn’t she?

So do you wonder that I talk so much?

5 Responses

  1. it’s natural for witches to be women
    You female chauvinist, you!
    Look up warlock

  2. This post made me smile on so many levels 🙂
    I can’t even begin to say.

  3. AB, first, I didn’t say unnatural things can’t happen. Second, warlock, not witch, see?!

    Tharunya, the next one’s for you! 🙂

  4. Have your read Good Omens? Please, pretty please, read it if you haven’t already. It’s a pretty good way to go – die laughing.

  5. Oh, I have! Hurrah for Pratchett!

Leave a Reply

