FlirtBuddies

Yeah, I made up the term. I think. At least, I haven’t heard it before! So, what is a FlirtBuddy, you ask? A buddy with whom I can flirt with no fear of it being considered an invitation to romantic involvement. Yeah, rather obvious!

I thought of the term on the way back from dinner on Saturday, and realised how much sense having a FlirtBuddy makes. All the fun – the intelligent conversation, the stimulation and excitement of enjoying someone’s company; the mischief of having been ‘seen with’ someone and having left people wondering who; wanting to look good because someone will pay you a compliment; the joys of preening, arguing, making up, being silly. And none of the pain – no ‘he loves me, he loves me not’, no wondering whether this will lead somewhere because you know neither of you wants it to, no worrying whether striking up another flirtation is a breach of commitment. Attraction and chemistry that both are content to leave as attraction and chemistry.

‘Tis good, it is.

9 Responses

  1. ‘Tis good, unless you are very very sure that no romantic attachement is involved.. Then it may be a major problem

  2. Kunal: That, of course! But such is the nature of FlirtBuddiness!

  3. Flirting is such an abused word. Could you define it please…

  4. Oh, for me, it’s different with each of my FlirtBuddies…

    With some it’s intelligent conversation, with others it’s silliness; with some it’s blatantly fluttering my eyelashes, with others it’s just the way I sit; with some it’s argument, with others agreement.

    How can you define flirting, buddy?!

  5. time pass flirtin with no ill intentions is surely fun,… 🙂

  6. Well, for one, the other should figure that you’re flirting 🙂

    You know a lot of people interpret conversations to be just conversations, arguments as an activity, agreement as ‘how boring’, fluttering eyelashes as ‘she’s got something in her eye’…

  7. But then they shouldn’t be called FlirtBuddies!

  8. I’m so happy you said it so well before I made a mess of it.
    ‘Tis better than good. ‘Tis sublime 🙂

  9. Well, I’m inclined to agree, T!

    And buddy, you seem to be under a misapprehension of some sort! 😉

     Welcome to my blog, Ankur!

Leave a Reply

