What goes around…

…comes around. Only, I didn’t think it would so soon! Thanks to @, I’m the victim of my own tag. Now I have to write about another city.

I considered Delhi, and I considered Bangalore, but decided on the little English town where I spent a year studying. Just to be fancy. So here goes:

  1. Summer Sunday mornings on Parker’s Piece, with a book, looking up to watch the closest match – cricket or footer – whenever you feel like it.
  2. Guy Fawkes’ Day on Midsummer Common – all evening and well into the night.
  3. Baked Potatoes from the vendor in Market Square, holding the paper tray close on a winter afternoon, and sitting on Kings’ Parade to eat before it gets cold.
  4. Second-hand books and music – not at the stalls in the market, but in a tiny overcrowded bookshop in a little lane that leads nowhere, while an old gentleman (or maybe his wife, the old lady) looks in on you while you browse for hours to your heart’s content.
  5. Formal Hall at one of the older colleges – Trinity, maybe – and walking on the grass afterward, slightly tipsy, out of sight of the snooty porters.

Should I find more people to tag? Let’s see – people I wanted to tag earlier but didn’t. Baudolino, DilettanteΒ (who I suspect has been lurking here, just as I have been lurking there), The Corinthian, Rekha, DivSu. So, people, five things to do in your city – not touristy stuff, but what you love to do! Enjoy!

6 Responses

  1. Me? You talking to me?!

    πŸ˜‰

  2. every intention of visiting there…shall keep all this in mind, especially number 3

  3. Bangalore Bytes – You? Both of you?! I don’t think I can tell you apart – I must be losing my mind!

    Mr. Nair – Do, do. Stay a while, if you can. πŸ™‚

  4. Dang! You got me! Check my post for details!

  5. awww u didnt tag me back 😦

  6. Baud: Very nice indeed. Makes me wish I could go spend a week there! πŸ™‚

    @: hmpf!

Leave a Reply

