One of those days

In a city where people say “Haan, main subah subah aajaatoon – dus baje pavunch jaatoon”, I’m staring at my computer screen at 10 a.m. and thinking “What a day!”

It started with the bus ride from home – the woman (she was no lady!) sitting in the first seat, instead of scooting in like normal people, moved one foot daintily aside to let me slide into the window seat. The front of my dress caught impossibly against the route-board and RRIIPP! a nice one-inch-square hole. Covering up with a dupatta, I get off the bus and walk towards the stop where I have to catch the Little Yellow Van (LYV) that we dignify by the name of the ‘college bus’. Between managing two bags and trying to stop the wind from blowing the dupatta off my poor torn dress, I fail to notice the LYV leaving, five minutes before schedule.

Having gotten into an auto to chase the LYV (no, no movie-style histrionics here, the LYV was well out of sight and I couldn’t say “chase that bus!”), ten minutes into the ride, in telephonic contact with someone in the LYV, I realise I haven’t an earthly hope of catching the damn thing. So I pay off the auto and try to find someone to cover my first-hour class. Only to find that the only other person who takes my batch has also missed the LYV. Aha.

I’m waiting for a Rattly Red Bus (RRB) to the middle-of-nowhere and calling the Registrar to tell him that someone needs to cover my class while I cover the hole on my kurta. (Yeah, I made the last bit up) He has other things to do, so tells me he will cover the class till I arrive. 9 a.m., I’m getting off the RRB and waving frantically waving at an auto to take me the last three kilometers to the campus. I tell the auto driver he has to make it fast – I’m late for class, and the poor man makes it in five minutes flat. Screeching to a dramatic halt at the foot of the stairs, I run down one corridor and up a flight of stairs, pick up my books, run down another flight of stairs and then walk sedately into class. Except for my mind, which is still running (or is it because it is sedated that it’s so blank?).

Forty-five minutes of class later, I’m standing in front of my computer screen, saying “What a day!” Wait, I think that’s where I started. Ah.

3 Responses

  1. you know what’s really funny? i was tellin someone when you walked into class what a pretty dupatta you were wearing!!! lol!
    p.s. Murphy really was a sod, wasn’t he?!!!

  2. Yeah, he was!

  3. Some people have all the excitement in their lives…. I know it’s not really the kind of excitement you want, but it’s still better than a mundane existence, where there’s no bus to miss, no filmy chase…

Leave a Reply

